Anime Review: Zipang

Zipang is an anime that I’ve been watching for the past few days now, and I am completely surprised at how good this anime is! I have to admit, during the first episode I had no idea where this anime was going? It started off slow, and was using terms that only a Japanese Navy sailor would understand. Near the end of the anime I had almost given up on it’s plot, thinking it was just gonna be another one of those anime’s that came up short for interesting plot twists. MAN WAS I WRONG!! The anime does a complete 180 it seems, and instead of talking about modernized warfare through todays technology, it takes you back 60 years in the past, to WWII.

zipang2Mirai, an improved Kongou-class Aegis guided missile destroyer, is one of the newest and most advanced ships in the entire Japanese Self-Defense Force (SDF). Her crew, also one of the newest, is lead by Capt. Umezu Saburo and Executive Officer Kadomatsu Yosuke. While running scheduled training exercises one day, Mirai encounters a fierce storm that throws their navigation systems into temporary disarray. After a few minutes of recovery, the crew is shocked to discover that they’ve been transported back in time to June 4, 1942 — The Battle of Midway, during World War II. Letting history take its course for this battle, they manage to avoid the conflict firsthand and make a vow to remain annonymous, changing history as little as possible. However, when the crew comes across the dying Lt. Commander Kusaka Takumi, XO. Kadomatsu’s instincts to save lives takes over, changing the course of history more than he could’ve imagined. (Source: myanimelist.net)

I am a bit of a history buff, so this anime has inevitably caught my attention. Though I don’t know much about the Japanese history during WWII, it doesn’t seem to matter, since everything is pretty much laid out for you in the anime.The production value is really well done, and the character development in the anime makes it extremely interesting! I haven’t quite finished it yet, as I have about another 8 episodes to see, but as of now it has not let me down as far as plot and suspense.

I would like to nominate this anime to be suggested for review for Nerdacon v4 approval. Naturally, I will bring the episodes I want to show to our meeting on tuesday and let everyone get a glimpse of it. If you have any interests in this anime, please make a comment!!

Leave a Reply

